Battery Park Junior Open Provides Car Service

By Shima Grover

Battery Park Junior Open Provides Car Service

Andrea Nicholson is an adorable five year old from Washington, DC.  Her parents and grandparents made the two plus hour trek on I-95 so that Andrea could play in the May 2014 Battery Park Junior Open.  The drive was uneventful, and the family arrived in Richmond in good time.  Then car trouble stranded the family on West Broad Street.  The parents phoned the tournament desk to withdraw Andrea from the tournament. RTA Board Member Bill Carli just happened to be visiting the tournament to promote the Davenport Championship he is directing.  Bill quickly changed hats and became a car service.  Bill found the family, brought Andrea and her mother, Jane, to the Park.  Andrea played her match in the co-ed 8U division of the tournament.  Although Andrea was two years younger than other competitors in the 8U division, she was the runner up in the division.  Congratulations Andrea!

After drenching rains in 2013 the tournament was finally blessed with perfect weather. Eighty-eight players competed in championship and satellite divisions.  Unusually large number of players from outside the metropolitan Richmond area participated in the event.  The tournament provided an opportunity for Richmond area players to test their skills against players from northern Virginia and Maryland.

The winners and runners up are listed below.  Congratulations to all who took part in the first Battery Park Junior Open of the year. Photo gallery of tournament



Runner up

B18 championship Jonathan Hartson Andy Mason
B18 championship consolation Joshua Carnohan Demetrius Pegram
B16 championship James Scotty Karlis Katlaps
B16 championship consolation Andrew Partington Jackson Barkstrom
B16 satellite Surya V Isaiah Timmons
B16 satellite consolation Tyler White Matthew Lowry
B14 championship Nicholas Nguyen Matthew Cook
B14 championship consolation Siddarth Pande Kishu Chaudry
B14 satellite Ryan Felder Charlesten Freeman
B14 satellite consolation Jack Baltimore Kofi Hawley
B12 championship Nathan Nguyen Joe Voeltzke
B12 championship consolation Chase Robinson Gus Mitchell
B10 championship Whit Wallace Viktor Vaniakin
B10 satellite Siddhi Cheekati Konrad Katlaps
G18 championship Morgan Fuqua Caroline Hare
G18 championship consolation Divya Atluri Jessica Marks
G16 championship Jade Woo Brooke Connatser
G16 championship consolation Claire Bowes Jessica Wen
G14 championship Charlotte Bell Ellen Yoo
G14 championship consolation Grace Caplice Marietta Wickham
G14 satellite Jazmine Davis Kendyl Berry
G12 championship Allison Bach Michelle Martinkov
G12 championship consolation Eleanor Westerfield Lara Geib
G12 satellite Leah Partington Kendal Green
G10 championship Sruthi Vegunta Reeva Kotha
G10 satellite Mia Robinson Jasmine Jackson
Co-ed 8U Suten Ra Khalfani Andrea Nicholson