Hall of Fame

Hall of Fame

In 1990 the Richmond Tennis Association (then the Richmond Tennis Patrons Association) established and inducted the first class of the Richmond Tennis Hall of Fame. In 1995 a second class was inducted, and a third in 1997. Since 1997 the Hall of Fame has been dormant and there have been no new inductees. In 2009, the RTA reinstated the Hall of Fame.

To be considered, a person or institution must have a minimum of 10 years of contribution to Richmond tennis. In the player category, the individual must have established outstanding competitive achievements with consideration given to sportsmanship and character. In the non-player category, the individual or entity must have made outstanding contributions within the capital city area with consideration given to dedication to the game.

Full Criteria

Nominate an individual or entity


Dorothy Chewning
Fidelity Bankers Life Insurance Co.
Crestar Bank
Arthur Ashe, Jr.
Arthur Ashe, Sr.
Samuel Woods
Louis Einwick
Robert Leitch, Sr.
Susan Cain
Thalhimers Stores
Waller Horsley
John Watson
Harold Burrows
Jerry DePew
Frank Maloney
Home Beneficial Life Insurance Co.
Massie Valentine


Mark Vines
Rodney Harmon
The Westwood Club
Tom Cain
Wade McGuire
Kathleen Cummings
John Packett
Hugh Waters III
Davenport & Company

Bitsy Harrison
Fred Bruner
Gayle Marlowe
Junie Chatman, Jr.
Lindsay Wortham 

Bob Bayliss
Tom Chewning
Fred Koechlein
Penelope Anderson McBride
O.H. Parrish
Tom Vozenilek
Thomas Jefferson High School Boys Championship Teams
1948-1958, 1965, 1968, 1970, and 1971